Viperpit(s).org

Simulation Software => Falcon BMS => Topic started by: The_target on April 25, 2022, 08:10:08 AM

Title: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: The_target on April 25, 2022, 08:10:08 AM
Check https://www.falcon-bms.com/  :yihaw: :yihaw:
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Sandman on April 25, 2022, 11:05:39 PM
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UayVlUyEO5s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UayVlUyEO5s)
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Rufus on April 25, 2022, 11:45:17 PM
...already installed... :thumbsup: .
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: henkie on April 26, 2022, 09:04:59 AM
I watched the trailer 3x ... sooo cool  :clap:

Really feeding my energy to work on the pit.
Cool to see that EXT LIGHTING is implemented. As I have said before, connect everything in your pit, you never know when some controls get implemented. We saw that with 4.35 and the Team has again put in effort to implement more in 4.36   :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:

The end of the trailer showed that there is also a Discord group. Will try to join that group (as a lurker) this evening (now still at work :whistle:)
 :vprules:
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: The_target on April 26, 2022, 12:28:07 PM
Code: [Select]
 In addition 4.36 now supports 128 btn. devices. That raises the logical number to 2048 (16 devices * 128 buttons) 
Now, no problem to declare 36 callbacks for SimBupUhfFreq1_2 to SimBupUhfFreq5_75  :clap: :clap: :clap:
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: henkie on April 26, 2022, 02:02:27 PM
Yup, I read also that 128 DX buttons are supported from one device.
That is "just in time", because the Teensy (4.1) in my left side console operates as master, connected (wirelessly) to 3 Arduino slaves. The Teensy connects the entire left side functionality via one USB cable to the PC. To do that, I needed some 125 DX buttons.
By the way, I "encoded" the AUX COMM digitrans as four analog sliders to keep the number of DX buttons below 128  ;D
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Marvin on April 26, 2022, 03:40:35 PM
In the last 23 years I have never needed anything to motivate my excitement for BMS..  But fuck me that video really excited me about 4.36.
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: The_target on April 27, 2022, 11:46:15 AM
@henkie
Quote
I "encoded" the AUX COMM digitrans as four analog sliders

Then how do you map those analog axis to AUX COMM input and SimIFFBackupMxDigity_z ?

On my IFF, I use SimIFFBackupM_Digit_Inc and SimIFFBackupM_Digit_Dec. As changes are sequential it's fine.
On my UHF, I am currently using INC and DEC. But when rotating quickly a knob, it takes a short time (but visible) to make the required pulses on the INC or DEC to reach the selected value on the associated digit.
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: raptor on April 27, 2022, 04:53:32 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ypivpdA5PU
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Marvin on April 27, 2022, 08:59:11 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ypivpdA5PU

My dream squadron!   :laugh: :clap:
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: henkie on April 28, 2022, 04:11:57 AM
@henkie
Quote
I "encoded" the AUX COMM digitrans as four analog sliders

Then how do you map those analog axis to AUX COMM input and SimIFFBackupMxDigity_z ?

On my IFF, I use SimIFFBackupM_Digit_Inc and SimIFFBackupM_Digit_Dec. As changes are sequential it's fine.
On my UHF, I am currently using INC and DEC. But when rotating quickly a knob, it takes a short time (but visible) to make the required pulses on the INC or DEC to reach the selected value on the associated digit.

I must admit that I do not yet have made the link between the hardware and the PC running BMS.
But I plan to write some code running on the PC that will handle the 4 "analog" sliders representing the 4 digitrans setting on AUX COMM. I write "analog" in quotes, because although it is an analog value, it will only have 10 discrete values (binary coded, step size 64), depending on the setting of the digitran.
The app running on the PC will convert the slider values to the appropriate commands.
I used this "trick" also for the rotary switches on CMDS. It was only used to keep the number of DX buttons in an acceptable range (< 128), which, in hindsight, was a good decision  :whistle:
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: The_target on April 28, 2022, 05:17:13 AM
Quote
I write "analog" in quotes, because although it is an analog value, it will only have 10 discrete values (binary coded, step size 64),
I did something similar ;) but in order to save inputs on the micro-controller on my panel. Rotaries produce an analog value and are connected to an ADC pin of the PIC, then the firmware convert it and select the proper DX input to activate.
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: henkie on April 28, 2022, 06:39:44 AM
Yes, that is the trick, just a different approach  ;D
Reading the analog value, and define the switch positions as analog "ranges" (to allow for some jitter and other rubbish that can be imposed on the analog signal).

However, especially for the left side, you need quite a few analog inputs for all the potentiometers.
As seen with the release of BMS 4.36 (EXT LIGHTING panel), you should connect them all ...  :whistle:
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Catcher on April 28, 2022, 06:59:54 AM
My Ext Lights panel only does the lights and strobe on the pit exterior itself, not yet in the virtual.

To re-organize the electronics to match the new possibilities, i.e the blink pattern on the sides of the pit.
If anyone knows a 12VDC pcb that does that, please feel welcome to share a link or info 8)

Right now I have the real red and green intake lights on the pit.
They can be steady and intermittent from the panel inside.

Also within those exact units there are tiny RC plane strobes, also controlled from the panel.
So great for when you start taxiing in the sim, you can see em reflected in your peripheral vision.

For that reason I am also planning to do a soft glow light in the front of the pit, connected to the landing/taxi switch (that switch is also working in the sim)
After take off then I get a real sort of feedback when I switch it off.
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: The_target on April 28, 2022, 07:31:51 AM
Quote
However, especially for the left side, you need quite a few analog inputs for all the potentiometers.
My hardware and firmeware framework can handle way more analog axis than bms requires😁
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: vito_zm on May 04, 2022, 01:37:06 PM
 I came back to the BMS 4 simulator after a long break and I have problems with the new versions of BMS 4.35 and 4.36
1) I run Falcon BMS 4.35 Setup
2) After running setup, I add 2 lines to the falcon bms CFG file
3) I run the RTTClient option
4) RTT gives message VCRUNTIME40_1.dll not found
5) I download the Microsoft Visual C ++ 2015 Redistributable (x64) v 14.31.31103.0 library from https://docs.microsoft.com/en-US/cpp/windows/latest-supported-vc-redist?view=msvc-170 and I run it
6) RTTClient works
7) I set the configuration in the RTT Client file.
8)Run Launch in the BMS
9) The simulator works, the MFD windows are black.
It looks like RTT is not receiving the data. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.
greetings vito_zm
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: jjbravo on May 04, 2022, 02:05:33 PM
Did you follow the steps in the technical manual section 5-35?
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: vito_zm on May 05, 2022, 02:51:32 AM
Thanks jj bravo for the suggestions. I found the cause of my problems. The two set g_bExportRTTTextures 1 and set g_nRTTExportBatchSize 2 statements were already in the flacon bms file in Misc Settings (not available in the Config.exe). It was enough to change 0 to 1 in g_bExportRTTTextures 1.
I didn't know that and I wrote these two instructions in Config.exe Settings and that was my mistake. Now it works, thank you for your help.
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: malpaso on July 19, 2022, 03:47:01 PM
update 4.36 U1 available!
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Korbi on July 19, 2022, 04:00:47 PM
You're sure?
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: malpaso on July 19, 2022, 04:04:22 PM
Not Available
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Korbi on July 21, 2022, 01:06:50 AM
Now its out for real.

https://forum.falcon-bms.com/topic/23014/falcon-bms-4-36-u1-incremental-installer
Title: Re: Falcon BMS 4.36 is available!
Post by: Rufus on July 21, 2022, 08:37:47 PM
...already installed... :whistle: ...
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal