collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 16
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 2
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

YouTube videos not always working? by mihi4
[February 18, 2024, 10:54:30 AM]


FCC2 curves for realistic controls by Fullnegi
[February 12, 2024, 07:39:44 AM]


DED with PS Cockpit "DCS" by Bloodhound161
[February 11, 2024, 06:26:52 PM]

Author Topic: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)  (Read 20192 times)

Offline SharkNoir

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location:
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: fr
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • The "Old" UCC System
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #105 on: August 30, 2023, 01:12:16 PM »
Yes
Manufacturer of former UCC

Offline Red Dog

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location: Brussels
  • Posts: 3888
  • Country: be
  • VP Awards 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Silver Heart Award: Awarded to those showing a real heart for the community and/or it's cause Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #106 on: August 30, 2023, 01:32:51 PM »
great stuff, still use it everyday.
I'll have a few question to bother you in the coming days :)
Have a bandit day - Red Dog
Red Dog flight sim's stuff
Red Dog models
Red Dog PPL
Red Dog Discord: 947914531772964865

Offline Red Dog

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location: Brussels
  • Posts: 3888
  • Country: be
  • VP Awards 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Silver Heart Award: Awarded to those showing a real heart for the community and/or it's cause Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #107 on: September 30, 2023, 01:18:33 PM »
I know I may ask the arm ...

What about mag switches?
Obviousy these don't work with DCStoF4 because eventhough the shared memory is active, the state of say the JFS switch does not change in BMS when you activate the DCS mag switch.
Yet a Im using the same keystroke within DCS and BMS.
Is there any way to change the sharedmem state of a bit with a keystroke? (Since that usually comes from BMS after the relevant keystroke as well)?

I know I know.... But maybe there is a way ...
Have a bandit day - Red Dog
Red Dog flight sim's stuff
Red Dog models
Red Dog PPL
Red Dog Discord: 947914531772964865

Offline SharkNoir

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location:
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: fr
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • The "Old" UCC System
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #108 on: October 05, 2023, 03:13:17 AM »
Hello,
So on DCStoF4, I'm simulating the magnetics for :
- JFS "JetfuelStarter".
- Autopilot "AutopilotON".
- Parking brake 'ParkbrakeON".

I need to test for FLCS bit "FLCSbitRun".

So sure, it's not perfect because it's far from BMS extractions and DCS only focuses on VR.
For the moment, magnetics are simulated in relation to light and switch states.
But for me, it works even in external view.
You can keep your arm...

I'm on 1.20 of the script but 1.18 already worked.

Can anyone confirm this?
Manufacturer of former UCC

Offline Red Dog

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location: Brussels
  • Posts: 3888
  • Country: be
  • VP Awards 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Silver Heart Award: Awarded to those showing a real heart for the community and/or it's cause Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #109 on: November 09, 2023, 05:17:45 AM »
...my pit only starts to react after I switch the UFC switch (AVN PWR) to ON at ramp. Before that nothing works.
But once past that it works great and saves a lot of DCS specific programming which is a real hassle when you developed your pit for BMS shared mem.

Update on that issue.
Thanks to Sharknoir's help this issue is finally identified.

The way my script.lua file was done, Simshaker was declared after DCStoF4.
Olivier corrected my script.lua and moved my Simshaker declaration below the F4toDCS declaration

Now F4toDCS works great immediately upon entering the pit and I don't have to wait till switching the UFC switch to ON for my pit to come alive in DCS.
Side effect is that SimShaker now doesn't work anymore in DCS.
but we're working on that

I think I had similar issues with Helios before with the order of the declarations of the script file.
Very touchy to make all these external software work alongside each other.

Thanks Sharknoir for your unlimited support with this
Have a bandit day - Red Dog
Red Dog flight sim's stuff
Red Dog models
Red Dog PPL
Red Dog Discord: 947914531772964865

Offline Deadhead

  • 2nd. LT
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2022
  • Location:
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: nl
  • Brand new newbie!
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #110 on: December 02, 2023, 08:55:55 PM »
Exactly what I need.
I was struggling to find a way to use my arduino dcs bios based ded for both dcs and bms.
After finding out deduino and this piece of software existed I immediately switched over to deduino.

Thanks!

Offline questerymj

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Location: Kaohsiung City
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: tw
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #111 on: December 11, 2023, 02:43:25 AM »
I have a problem here, I try to use DCS to F4 with F4TS(F4 to serial) , I try to merge the scripts of both export.lua but looks like it didn't work, once I add

local xflight=require('lfs');dofile(xflight.writedir()..[[scripts\DCS-XFLIGHT\Util-Dial.lua]])

into the export.lua of F4TS it stop work/communicate with DCS, I change the port from 8081 and 8082 didn't help, does there any way to slove this?

Offline SharkNoir

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location:
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: fr
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • The "Old" UCC System
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #112 on: December 11, 2023, 04:34:29 AM »
Hello,
Why do you want to merge the 2 export scripts (F4TS & F4ToDCS) for DCS?

Have you tried setting up F4TS for F4 BMS?
Start F4BMS on the menu page.
Start F4TS.
Then start F4ToDCS and DCS.

I can't use F4TS because I don't have the hardware to run the application. It's stuck on the serial port settings.
Manufacturer of former UCC

Offline questerymj

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Location: Kaohsiung City
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: tw
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #113 on: December 11, 2023, 01:20:14 PM »
Thanks for reply Shark! I really appreciate your DCS to F4.

The story is I'd build a CPD for bms and I try to use Yame64 with DCS F-16. At the same time I use F4TS to build the warning light sets because it support lightbit matrix to maintain 64 light output for BMS and DCS at same time, it's very handy for me. I had tested and it works well for BMS and DCS both.

But F4TS and DCS to F4 and Helios all need to use export.lua to communicate, so I try to merge them together. So far my test result is:

Helios+F4tS=ok, lightbits export worked
Helios+DCS to F4=ok, I can use CPD from Yame64 with DCS F-16

But if I add the declare line of DCS to F4

local xflight=require('lfs');dofile(xflight.writedir()..[[scripts\DCS-XFLIGHT\Util-Dial.lua]]))

into the export.lua, both of F4TS and DCS to F4 won't work. I don't know if the port conflicted (F4tS use 8080, DCS to F4 use 8081 and 82) or other problem and change the order didn't solve the problem. I'd attach the export.lua I use now (it's basiclly export.lua of F4Ts+declare line of DCS to F4 and Helios, F4TS didn't use dofile way), wish you can take a look if possible.

Thanks for your genius work!

Offline questerymj

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Location: Kaohsiung City
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: tw
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #114 on: December 11, 2023, 01:49:45 PM »
So far I'd successful to use yame64 with DCS F-16 :) The third TM MFD is installed for F/A-18 and F-15E

Offline Red Dog

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location: Brussels
  • Posts: 3888
  • Country: be
  • VP Awards 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Silver Heart Award: Awarded to those showing a real heart for the community and/or it's cause Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #115 on: December 12, 2023, 06:45:41 AM »
Wow, that's quite an export file :)
I'm interested to know more about the why's and the how's ... As I need to reactivate my screen and which to switch back to Yame from Helios for DCS

Glad to see more ppl use this app, it's a real gem for us coming from BMS and flying DCS. or for us flying both.
It saves a lot of pain interfacing a cockpit for multiple sims

once again @SharkNoir : merci beaucoup :)
Have a bandit day - Red Dog
Red Dog flight sim's stuff
Red Dog models
Red Dog PPL
Red Dog Discord: 947914531772964865

Offline questerymj

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Location: Kaohsiung City
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: tw
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #116 on: December 12, 2023, 10:19:56 AM »
I would like to suggest to use Helios for DCS instead YAME or other screen porting software for BMS, there are already enough F-16 cockpit parts in Helios tool box. The unqiue instruments I still wish to export from YAME is CPD and ATD+, unfortunately ATD+ doesen't work with 4.37 so I make a fake one by Helios.XD

Offline Red Dog

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location: Brussels
  • Posts: 3888
  • Country: be
  • VP Awards 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Silver Heart Award: Awarded to those showing a real heart for the community and/or it's cause Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #117 on: December 12, 2023, 11:57:01 AM »
yes, the reason I favour Yame is indeed the CPD :)
Have a bandit day - Red Dog
Red Dog flight sim's stuff
Red Dog models
Red Dog PPL
Red Dog Discord: 947914531772964865

Offline questerymj

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Location: Kaohsiung City
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: tw
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #118 on: December 12, 2023, 01:06:32 PM »
BTW I feel the fps of CPD via DCS to F4 is somewhat low(50% when playing BMS) , maybe because my PC is old... or other way to improve this? :)

Offline SharkNoir

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Location:
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: fr
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • The "Old" UCC System
    • Awards
Re: DCStoF4 (Standalone version)
« Reply #119 on: January 10, 2024, 09:05:26 AM »
Hello,
New version of the software available on the share page.
Version 1.22 for scripts.
Version 1.0.1 for the executable.

Corrections :
  • Addition of some DED pages
  • Correction of the LASER page
  • Correction of CMDS for Chaffs and Flares
  • Addition of FLCS indicators A B C & D

Thanks to RedDog for the feedback.
Manufacturer of former UCC

 

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal