collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 22
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 1
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

Cockpit-Fest USA 2014 by Venom
[Today at 06:05:09 PM]


HUD block casting replica by SharkNoir
[Today at 06:04:54 PM]


HUD Replica by Nigel
[Today at 04:28:53 PM]


Faan's pit by tiger-31
[Today at 04:17:58 PM]


GROUP BUY for Toggle Switch RUBBER CAPS (2014) by John Fredrik
[Today at 03:29:53 PM]


JJ F16 Block 52 Pit progress by JJ
[Today at 03:23:52 PM]


Rebel's Cockpit Progress by Rebel
[Today at 02:42:12 PM]


Willy's Pit by Willy
[Today at 02:17:44 PM]


eBay heads-up by Kukki
[Today at 02:12:48 PM]


Csaba's wish list by hcsabo
[Today at 03:29:08 AM]


PSCOCKPIT SYSTEM 3rd RUN! by Dead-man
[September 01, 2014, 11:16:20 PM]


Real A/C panel pin out by Manny
[September 01, 2014, 10:50:31 PM]


Center Console Parts Pack by tiger-31
[September 01, 2014, 03:04:02 PM]


Matrox TripleHead2Go Digital Edition by tiger-31
[September 01, 2014, 02:57:54 PM]


Cage is back by Wolverine
[September 01, 2014, 09:35:21 AM]


bluc69 wish list by bluc69
[September 01, 2014, 08:26:56 AM]


Henkie's pit by Nigel
[September 01, 2014, 12:26:29 AM]


Problem with 8" tft.... by Manny
[August 31, 2014, 01:44:02 PM]


The next DED and PFD solution by JJ
[August 31, 2014, 12:58:34 PM]


Aft sounds from rear speakers? by clr4ils
[August 30, 2014, 08:41:11 PM]

Author Topic: PS Cockpit PCBs first run  (Read 51171 times)

Offline Stingray

  • 1st.LT
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #150 on: February 05, 2012, 02:21:16 PM »
Shep!

on channel 0, board 011, you used like 13 LEDs on a single 16 I/O; so the board can handle that load? you wrote about power dissipation, and that you are going to test for it...can we assume this has been done and that we can equip a 16 I/O almost fully with LED output?

Cheers,
Stingray

Offline JShepherd

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: es
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #151 on: February 06, 2012, 04:20:04 PM »
Hi Shep

Let me know when you make another run, I am interested in 1x main, 1x display, 1x stp, 7x 40 I/o, 17x 16 I/ o.  I know I missed the initial run...so no hurry... Just wanted to give you a heads up.  Thanks for all the work you have been into it... Looks incredible!!

Hi pferret,

Thanks for the compliments. You have been PSCockpitted!!   :biggrin:

Cheers,
Shep

Offline JShepherd

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: es
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #152 on: February 06, 2012, 04:50:48 PM »
Shep!

on channel 0, board 011, you used like 13 LEDs on a single 16 I/O; so the board can handle that load? you wrote about power dissipation, and that you are going to test for it...can we assume this has been done and that we can equip a 16 I/O almost fully with LED output?

Cheers,
Stingray
Hi Stingray,

With my Alzheimer don?t ask me to remember everything I?ve said!!  :D  Just kidding!.

The issue with the power dissipation of the chips is that depends on multiple factors related with the temperature (ambient temperature, cooling device, cycles/sec?.) so there is always a possibility to burn the chip.

One thing to consider is that the outputs won?t be all on and all the time.

I have already connected 16 leds to an expander for half an hour and the chip didn?t get any hot. I am confidence that the power dissipation shouldn?t be a problem if you don?t exceed the maximum current allowed by the devices:
- 16 I/O expander output: 25ma
- 40 I/O expander output: 15 ma
- Expanders PCB?s: 1A

Regards,
Shep

Offline Stingray

  • 1st.LT
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #153 on: February 06, 2012, 05:20:55 PM »

One thing to consider is that the outputs won?t be all on and all the time.

I would rather not count on that. Just hit once the TEST button, and it all goes on.... :whistle:

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ch
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #154 on: February 07, 2012, 04:03:47 AM »
Then you will have to make a 380V power supply to your pit for the test button and its sub system  :stupid:

Offline rtopinka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2010
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #155 on: February 08, 2012, 02:54:51 PM »
I am also interested for your solution. I need cards for 2 pits. Let me know, radek

Offline JShepherd

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: es
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #156 on: February 08, 2012, 03:20:20 PM »
Hi Stingray,

The data sheet is for 4x bars but the reference is 2x bars. Be sure you get the correct one. See digikey data sheets.

Anyway, If you use 2x you can limit the current with only one resistor R=(5V-2,2V)/25ma= 112 Oms. Choose the bigger commercial one: 120 Ohms. You will have 12,5 mA per led. It will be less bright but I think will be enough.
I you want the full brightness or use the 4x bars then use the circuit attached. You should have 80ma. There is no other way. Sorry.

Regarding the fancy switch you shouldn?t have any problem. Use the connection of the elements as the attachment. As per data sheet the screw has to be connected to ground!!

Kind regards,
Shep
« Last Edit: February 08, 2012, 03:23:57 PM by JShepherd »

Offline Stingray

  • 1st.LT
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #157 on: February 09, 2012, 02:57:41 AM »
Awesome. Yes, I have the 4-bars stuff, so I will proceed as suggested by you. Thanks for your help. Really appreciated! Sometimes electronics let you go mad. But when it all once lights up, you feel like Christmas+Birthday+... :biggrin:

Thx,
Stingray

EDIT: Can I use the generalized circuit I attached below to drive higher amps with the boards. I see two problems, 1) the relay needs more current than the output can handle (5VDC, 125 ohms), so it would not energize, and 2) the 4N27 chip cannot handle much current as well. Otherwise I could simply use one relay with a diode in front, but then again problem 1) would rise up. Generalized because I could also apply 12V in the final circuit (on the right).

Is there an easier solution? BTW: I now let go of my 220V projects. I have already designed a solution to use 12V/ 5V throughout. So now I would have to use relays for 5V...that's why I am asking.

Regards,

Stingray
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 07:55:41 AM by Stingray »

Offline JShepherd

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: es
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #158 on: February 09, 2012, 04:54:32 PM »
Awesome. Yes, I have the 4-bars stuff, so I will proceed as suggested by you. Thanks for your help. Really appreciated! Sometimes electronics let you go mad. But when it all once lights up, you feel like Christmas+Birthday+... :biggrin:

Thx,
Stingray

EDIT: Can I use the generalized circuit I attached below to drive higher amps with the boards. I see two problems, 1) the relay needs more current than the output can handle (5VDC, 125 ohms), so it would not energize, and 2) the 4N27 chip cannot handle much current as well. Otherwise I could simply use one relay with a diode in front, but then again problem 1) would rise up. Generalized because I could also apply 12V in the final circuit (on the right).

Is there an easier solution? BTW: I now let go of my 220V projects. I have already designed a solution to use 12V/ 5V throughout. So now I would have to use relays for 5V...that's why I am asking.

Regards,

Stingray
Hi Stingray,
Nice to hear that you have left the Faraday Cage for others. :D
If you are going to use only DC voltage the you can use a type of relay called reed relay. There is one with a 5VDC and 140 Ohms coil, so you can connect directly the output of the expander. They admit up to 1A DC on the contact. I've worked with the EDR201A05.
Regards,
Shep

Offline JShepherd

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: es
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #159 on: February 12, 2012, 05:10:02 AM »
FIRST PANEL WITH THE BRAND NEW 16 I/O EXPANDER

Hi everybody,

This is how the final 16 I/O looks like:
 


As per the I/O list, let?s connect to this I/O expander our MISC panel. You can see in the picture above that the address of the expander is the same as the I/O list: 001.

 

Step 1: Select the position of the expander in the panel:
 


Step 2: Wire all the input commons together and output commons together:


 
Step 3: Wire inputs and outputs to a connector as per our I/O list, taking care of selecting the correct pin of the switches as they are usually inverted and adding the limiting resistor to the leds:

 

I have used this type of connectors:
Crimp terminals: MULTICOMP 2226TG 24-28AWG
Crimp Housing: MULTICOMP 2226A-08



Step 4: Connect the wires to the expander


 


Doesn?t it look beautiful?  :yihaw:

Step 5: Test:
 



 
Regards,
Shep

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ch
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #160 on: February 12, 2012, 06:12:36 AM »
Great  :cheerleader: Even I understand about 60 %  :stupid:

Very good work. Looking forward having such a good soloution in my pit later  :hail:

Offline Strale

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Location: Italy
  • Posts: 1891
  • Country: it
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #161 on: February 12, 2012, 10:24:29 AM »
Shep,
Just a quick note. the TFR lighted pushbutton has TWO lights
so you will need two output there.

Cheers
Strale (Skype: Strale_64)

Offline Stingray

  • 1st.LT
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #162 on: February 13, 2012, 04:59:02 AM »
Wow. looks amazing. cant wait until I put mine together. Already ordered the crimp stuff. BTW: did I mention that I cant wait :D ;)

Offline JShepherd

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: es
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #163 on: February 13, 2012, 01:45:58 PM »
Shep,
Just a quick note. the TFR lighted pushbutton has TWO lights
so you will need two output there.

Cheers
Hi Strale,
If you look at the I/O list of the Step 5, there are two outputs for the TFR (7 & 8 ) for the lucky guys. My pushbutton only has one light  :'(
Regards,
Shep

Offline Stingray

  • 1st.LT
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
Re: PS Cockpit PCBs first run
« Reply #164 on: February 20, 2012, 05:19:49 AM »
Step 3: Wire inputs and outputs to a connector as per our I/O list, taking care of selecting the correct pin of the switches as they are usually inverted and adding the limiting resistor to the leds:

Just one question to be really sure:

1) How do you plug in the grounds on your board? Same technique with crimp housing? How many positions are ground? I know that I can wire them all together and use just a single one, but I would love to separate IN and OUT for administrative reasons (gives me more overview). Do I have to wire them together and plug it in as a single or can I leave it as two wires?

2) For the wiring, it is clear that with an on/off/on switch, the connections are usually inverted and I will take care, BUT: how about normal on/off switches; my problem is, that I mounted them all somehow inverted meaning that they point in the position which should be "off", but actually electronically-wise they are "on". Can your program inverse this, meaning that if I turn off the switch, it should be on? I guess that shouldnt be a problem...otherwise  :sick:

Cheers,

Stingray

EDIT: Got both the switch and the mini-LED arrays up and running. Wonderful! :yihaw: :yihaw: :beer: Thanks again! :hail:
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 12:55:03 PM by Stingray »