collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 12
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 3
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

eBay heads-up by sagrzmnky
[Today at 12:26:02 AM]


Painting your pit! by sagrzmnky
[October 21, 2014, 06:48:16 PM]


Biggles Wishlist by biggles
[October 21, 2014, 06:00:47 PM]


LG Panel by biggles
[October 21, 2014, 05:29:11 PM]


FS weekend Lelystad 2014. by ulti
[October 21, 2014, 03:12:26 PM]


Wolverine's F16 Block 52 by Wolverine
[October 21, 2014, 02:46:46 PM]


JJ F16 Block 52 Pit progress by Rufus
[October 20, 2014, 11:28:27 PM]


bluc69 F16 Block 52 pit by JJ
[October 20, 2014, 06:05:14 PM]


D-Sub Pin out Question by Doc_
[October 20, 2014, 04:26:19 PM]


JJ New wishlist by JJ
[October 20, 2014, 12:37:24 PM]


Pitmeeting Twente 2015 by JJ
[October 20, 2014, 06:11:43 AM]


HUD Replica by sagrzmnky
[October 19, 2014, 10:22:14 PM]


MailMan's Pit by JJ
[October 19, 2014, 06:31:41 PM]


KK's Pit by JJ
[October 19, 2014, 06:26:17 PM]


Clock by Rufus
[October 19, 2014, 02:49:11 PM]


Uri's Pit by trace
[October 19, 2014, 11:40:36 AM]


Parts 3D Models by Hempstead
[October 19, 2014, 04:49:21 AM]


Pitmeeting Twente 2014 by JJ
[October 18, 2014, 04:18:39 PM]


GROUP BUY for Toggle Switch RUBBER CAPS (2014) by raptor
[October 18, 2014, 08:38:51 AM]


How to remove the lenses from the indexers without damaging them? by tiger-31
[October 18, 2014, 05:57:45 AM]

Author Topic: Powering the PHCC.  (Read 1685 times)

jrsteensen

  • Guest
Powering the PHCC.
« on: December 18, 2008, 09:18:35 PM »
So, given one AT power supply, what is the most effective method to power the motherboard, and 2 7 seg boards. (Also, I plug in the power supply, and it doesnt turn on...I assume I have to jumper two connections? Which ones?

Or we can make this a how to design a power bus for your pit thread - it is my goal to have a minimum of power related wiring, and a minimum of cables running outside the pit.

Thanks.

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2008, 09:55:32 PM »
I plug in the power supply, and it doesnt turn on...I assume I have to jumper two connections? Which ones?
Short PS_ON (pin 14) on the 20-pin Main Power Connector to one of the grounds.


jrsteensen

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2008, 10:13:37 PM »
I got a crate of 10 old power supplies from my dad - they are unmarked as to which standard, but they have their output volatages marked.

Found this little 3 pin female connector marked "P9" It has a black, purple, green wires running into it - if I jump the black and green wires, it turns on when plugged in.

Has two unknown 6 pin connectors marked PS1, PS2. 8 pin connector marked "P2". 4 pin connectors that fit the PHCC that read P4-P8. Can't find a datasheet on them. Any ideas on where I can find a proper pinout? ASTC Model VL202-3415

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools

bubba

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2008, 01:34:02 AM »
Dave do you have every electronics company bookmarked in your head? You always know where to go. Very cool!

Thanks,
Joe

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2008, 02:34:08 AM »
No, a simple Google search turns up most information quickly. 

Offline sugarmate

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2008
  • Location: Thessaloniki
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: gr
    • Johnnakis Myspace profile
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2008, 07:58:55 AM »
Bear in mind that some PSUs don't switch on (using the pin14 and ground) if there is no load in one or both the +12 and +5 V lines... which means that in order for them to work properly you either have to connect something that uses these voltages (an old CDROM drive or something like that) or make some dummy loads with proper wattage resistors on the +12 and +5 lines.

Hope that makes sense...

Cannon

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2008, 12:17:05 PM »
I plugged my in on the extra fan output on my office comp- all lights were on !!

So, I guess it works so far!! 


Hope I get the main chip soon so I can test this thing out!

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2008, 12:33:03 PM »
So, given one AT power supply, what is the most effective method to power the motherboard, and 2 7 seg boards. (Also, I plug in the power supply, and it doesnt turn on...I assume I have to jumper two connections? Which ones?
Hi Jrsteensen
                               An AT. Power supply shouldn?t be a problem they all have a cabinet switch,
Just switch on and there?s power.
The problem starts with an ATX. Power supply, there?s no switch.

Offline AiRdAncE

  • - Kim -
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2006
  • Location: Westervoort, Netherlands
  • Posts: 3825
  • Fly till I PUKE !
    • Kidogo Fotografie
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2008, 12:57:25 PM »
The problem starts with an ATX. Power supply, there?s no switch.

Just short the black and green wires that are on the center of the ATX connector. It'll turn on instantly.

I mean the GND and PS_ON wires. Short those together.


jrsteensen

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2008, 02:45:50 PM »
I'm sorry, I should have said an AT Series. Unknown which type. Definately not ATX, I think it might be an ATE.

Gonna be setting up a "evaluation/development board" type setup as well for testing the boards that I assemble for people.

Offline Nikolas_A

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2004
  • Location: Athens, Hellas
  • Posts: 2648
  • Country: gr
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2011, 04:03:03 PM »
Does anybody know how many amps the M/B draws? In case I don't use a PC supply...
Great ideas need landing gear as well as wings

Offline m0jo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2011, 06:10:55 PM »
The motherboard draw less than 50mA without anything connected.

Offline asekeris

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Location: Zevenbergen
  • Posts: 137
  • I don't make mistakes, I limit myself to blunders.
    • PHCC add-on and support site.
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2011, 02:27:51 PM »
Also take in consideration that for testing the PC-power supplys deliver far to much amps in case of a short circuit.
It is a nice and cheap alternative in the finished design but better use a small power supply in the first steps to prevent any burned pcb's with a current limiter. (5volt, 0.5 to 1Amp.)
A current limiter is also advisable and that can be as simple as putting a small bulb of your car spare box in series with the +5v and +12v lines.
It also gives a nice visual indication in case of a short circuit.
(And before somebody starts yelling he does not own a car buy some bulbs in a store)
New support/addon site for the PHCC project.
www.phcc.nl
Involved in a fullsize A320 simulator build.
A320 simulator