collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 14
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 4
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

HUD block casting replica by tiger-31
[Today at 10:04:57 AM]


Red Dog's pit - I finally started by Red Dog
[Today at 09:48:50 AM]


Uri's Pit by uri_ba
[Today at 08:42:25 AM]


HUD Replica BioHazzard vs JCook by tiger-31
[Today at 08:27:25 AM]


Rufus' Ride - Block 50 Pit Progress... by henkie
[Today at 07:12:00 AM]


NOCS's project by NOCS
[Today at 03:45:50 AM]


How To Use 2 PC's with BMS by Kukki
[Today at 03:41:30 AM]


Kukki´s Pit V5 by Ski
[September 20, 2014, 07:33:03 PM]


F-16 cockpit simulator frame offer - ready and painted to your door by Raider
[September 20, 2014, 01:57:12 PM]


HUD Replica by JCook
[September 19, 2014, 08:57:13 PM]


New guy signing in from Southern Cali by JJ
[September 19, 2014, 04:03:48 PM]


Viper26 pit by viper26
[September 19, 2014, 03:35:22 PM]


All these acronyms by Rufus
[September 19, 2014, 02:59:01 PM]


New Computer Advice by Rufus
[September 19, 2014, 02:52:59 PM]


Synchro Drive Interface (SDI) by henkie
[September 19, 2014, 12:36:20 PM]


Cockpit kits possible run II - Input requested by Sparrow 23
[September 19, 2014, 03:19:12 AM]


Center Console Parts Pack by Sparrow 23
[September 19, 2014, 01:25:04 AM]


hi all from italy by NOCS
[September 18, 2014, 07:01:18 AM]


Oculus Rift by Bluedeath
[September 18, 2014, 06:45:10 AM]


Entire Fam Pit for Sale. Pics, ebay link, etc... by clr4ils
[September 18, 2014, 06:15:31 AM]

Author Topic: Powering the PHCC.  (Read 1662 times)

jrsteensen

  • Guest
Powering the PHCC.
« on: December 18, 2008, 09:18:35 PM »
So, given one AT power supply, what is the most effective method to power the motherboard, and 2 7 seg boards. (Also, I plug in the power supply, and it doesnt turn on...I assume I have to jumper two connections? Which ones?

Or we can make this a how to design a power bus for your pit thread - it is my goal to have a minimum of power related wiring, and a minimum of cables running outside the pit.

Thanks.

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2008, 09:55:32 PM »
I plug in the power supply, and it doesnt turn on...I assume I have to jumper two connections? Which ones?
Short PS_ON (pin 14) on the 20-pin Main Power Connector to one of the grounds.


jrsteensen

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2008, 10:13:37 PM »
I got a crate of 10 old power supplies from my dad - they are unmarked as to which standard, but they have their output volatages marked.

Found this little 3 pin female connector marked "P9" It has a black, purple, green wires running into it - if I jump the black and green wires, it turns on when plugged in.

Has two unknown 6 pin connectors marked PS1, PS2. 8 pin connector marked "P2". 4 pin connectors that fit the PHCC that read P4-P8. Can't find a datasheet on them. Any ideas on where I can find a proper pinout? ASTC Model VL202-3415

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools

Offline bubba

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2008
  • Location: Maryland
  • Posts: 89
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2008, 01:34:02 AM »
Dave do you have every electronics company bookmarked in your head? You always know where to go. Very cool!

Thanks,
Joe
Bubba

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2008, 02:34:08 AM »
No, a simple Google search turns up most information quickly. 

Offline sugarmate

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2008
  • Location: Thessaloniki
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: gr
    • Johnnakis Myspace profile
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2008, 07:58:55 AM »
Bear in mind that some PSUs don't switch on (using the pin14 and ground) if there is no load in one or both the +12 and +5 V lines... which means that in order for them to work properly you either have to connect something that uses these voltages (an old CDROM drive or something like that) or make some dummy loads with proper wattage resistors on the +12 and +5 lines.

Hope that makes sense...

Cannon

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2008, 12:17:05 PM »
I plugged my in on the extra fan output on my office comp- all lights were on !!

So, I guess it works so far!! 


Hope I get the main chip soon so I can test this thing out!

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2008, 12:33:03 PM »
So, given one AT power supply, what is the most effective method to power the motherboard, and 2 7 seg boards. (Also, I plug in the power supply, and it doesnt turn on...I assume I have to jumper two connections? Which ones?
Hi Jrsteensen
                               An AT. Power supply shouldn?t be a problem they all have a cabinet switch,
Just switch on and there?s power.
The problem starts with an ATX. Power supply, there?s no switch.

Offline AiRdAncE

  • - Kim -
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2006
  • Location: Westervoort, Netherlands
  • Posts: 3825
  • Fly till I PUKE !
    • Kidogo Fotografie
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2008, 12:57:25 PM »
The problem starts with an ATX. Power supply, there?s no switch.

Just short the black and green wires that are on the center of the ATX connector. It'll turn on instantly.

I mean the GND and PS_ON wires. Short those together.


jrsteensen

  • Guest
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2008, 02:45:50 PM »
I'm sorry, I should have said an AT Series. Unknown which type. Definately not ATX, I think it might be an ATE.

Gonna be setting up a "evaluation/development board" type setup as well for testing the boards that I assemble for people.

Offline Nikolas_A

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2004
  • Location: Athens, Hellas
  • Posts: 2621
  • Country: gr
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2011, 04:03:03 PM »
Does anybody know how many amps the M/B draws? In case I don't use a PC supply...
Great ideas need landing gear as well as wings

Offline m0jo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2011, 06:10:55 PM »
The motherboard draw less than 50mA without anything connected.

Offline asekeris

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Location: Zevenbergen
  • Posts: 137
  • I don't make mistakes, I limit myself to blunders.
    • PHCC add-on and support site.
Re: Powering the PHCC.
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2011, 02:27:51 PM »
Also take in consideration that for testing the PC-power supplys deliver far to much amps in case of a short circuit.
It is a nice and cheap alternative in the finished design but better use a small power supply in the first steps to prevent any burned pcb's with a current limiter. (5volt, 0.5 to 1Amp.)
A current limiter is also advisable and that can be as simple as putting a small bulb of your car spare box in series with the +5v and +12v lines.
It also gives a nice visual indication in case of a short circuit.
(And before somebody starts yelling he does not own a car buy some bulbs in a store)
New support/addon site for the PHCC project.
www.phcc.nl
Involved in a fullsize A320 simulator build.
A320 simulator