collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 17
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 2
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

Flight-gear display! by BobSlob
[Today at 06:56:03 AM]


Good idea to paint faceplate to MLU? by Focaldesign
[Today at 06:34:47 AM]


UHF frequency Shared Memory by black snake
[Today at 06:26:13 AM]


GROUP BUY for Toggle Switch RUBBER CAPS (2014) by Kneeling Warrior
[Today at 05:36:30 AM]


Viper26 pit by JJ
[Today at 03:07:21 AM]


DZUS fastener GROUP BUY (2014) by avn-tech
[Today at 02:51:11 AM]


Grease Monkey's Pit by sagrzmnky
[Today at 01:57:10 AM]


Measurements post? by powers
[April 23, 2014, 09:07:44 PM]


Help for PCU-15A/P Torso Harness by powers
[April 23, 2014, 08:07:34 PM]


Grimes LG light wiring by Firebird
[April 23, 2014, 07:58:49 PM]


A day like today by Moon
[April 23, 2014, 07:09:03 PM]


FNG intro, bought Feather's Trainer by Taipan
[April 23, 2014, 06:43:19 PM]


Attaching FLCS POWER TEST grime light to AIC by JJ
[April 23, 2014, 06:21:56 PM]


CNC Backlight PCB's by JCook
[April 23, 2014, 03:46:28 PM]


Pitmeeting Twente 2014 by Rufus
[April 23, 2014, 02:37:13 PM]


Hornet's New Digital Display by powers
[April 23, 2014, 12:41:35 PM]


starting my seat! by Nigel
[April 23, 2014, 12:22:59 PM]


eBay heads-up by ulti
[April 23, 2014, 11:59:00 AM]


Jumping into a F16 cockpit by ReaperAT
[April 23, 2014, 08:44:39 AM]


PSCOCKPIT SYSTEM 3rd RUN! by funkster
[April 23, 2014, 02:23:56 AM]

Author Topic: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place  (Read 11964 times)

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« on: February 17, 2008, 02:03:52 AM »
Lightning's Tools & Utilities has a new home! Everything's been moved to my new project space on Assembla, at:

http://www.assembla.com/spaces/lightningstools
« Last Edit: March 10, 2008, 02:25:47 AM by lightning »

Offline AiRdAncE

  • - Kim -
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2006
  • Location: Westervoort, Netherlands
  • Posts: 3825
  • Fly till I PUKE !
    • Kidogo Fotografie
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2008, 07:13:09 AM »
Golden post ! Stickied ! ;)

Offline thebeev

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • LT. General
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2005
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA
  • Posts: 487
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 11:31:17 AM »
 :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail:

Offline bnepethomas

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Location: Brisbane, Oz
  • Posts: 537
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2008, 07:27:27 AM »
magic, ta muchly

Offline mathwasp2

  • 2nd. LT
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2009, 11:22:41 PM »
Superb work and so cool to have everything on the site. Problem is I get asked a user name and password? Any help?

Offline magoo

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Location: Belluno
  • Posts: 180
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2009, 02:29:10 AM »
Thank you very much Lightning, a mine of usefull tools, indeed !

Offline rimi

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2006
  • Location: My wife's heart
  • Posts: 183
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2009, 05:24:14 AM »
 :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail: :hail:

Lightning you're the man
Peace is my Goal !!!

My progress report
http://www.viperpits.org/smf/index.php?topic=4159.0

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2009, 05:32:34 AM »
Superb work and so cool to have everything on the site. Problem is I get asked a user name and password? Any help?
None of the content is password protected for downloading anyway.  Is anyone else having this problem??  It does not ask me for a password from anywhere I've ever tried it from and I just verified again that it does not ask for one.  What URL are you accessing that's asking for a password?

Offline white-eagle

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 552
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2009, 03:52:14 PM »
David,

I get asked for loginID and password now. Didn't have the problem before.

ANy ideas

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2009, 03:57:40 PM »
I ran out of my free 200MB of space on my account on Assembla, just upgraded to a paid account this morning.  Looks like it reset the permissions to private at that point but didn't reset them to public afterward.  I'll manually update the permissions back to public.

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2009, 04:30:20 PM »
Site is live again.

Offline Nigel

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2008
  • Location: Lost Angeles
  • Posts: 3519
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2009, 09:47:52 PM »
Dave please let us know what it costs to keep that account and I will be happy to donate.
Nigel

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2009, 11:34:28 PM »
Oh, it's a whopping $3 per month now for the Pro account...I'm pretty sure that beer funds are sufficient to cover the costs of hosting :beer:

Offline white-eagle

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 552
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2009, 02:10:27 PM »
Thanks Dave.  :yihaw:

Offline TOR

  • Global Moderator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Location: Denmark
  • Posts: 2181
  • Country: 00
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2009, 02:47:53 PM »
... beer it is then... good efforts mate  :thumbsup:

 :beer2:

GUN

Offline Kukki

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2005
  • Location: Aabybro, Denmark
  • Posts: 2946
  • Country: dk
  • Kurt "Kukki" Andersen
    • Kukki?s F-16 website
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2009, 04:41:50 PM »
As GUN said....Beer inbound :-)  :thumbsup: Good work Lightning.

Kukki
Kukki - (Skype: kukki87th)
872nd Fighter Squadron Scandinavia
87th Stray Dogs VFW

Offline Flareless

  • Moderator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2003
  • Location: Grey Highlands, Ontario
  • Posts: 1786
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2009, 06:31:39 AM »
Great work Lightning!  Definitely worth a Frosty!
Blue Skies,

Flareless
Tech Please - I'm Outta Here

Offline Feathers

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Location: State of Confusion
  • Posts: 939
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2009, 11:50:55 AM »
Absolutely incredible work.  You know if all you guys lived in the same area we could have built a really nice professional simulation company.  :-)
Jim

Offline Rabbit

  • Live to fly
  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Location: Netherlands Puth
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: nl
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2010, 03:56:46 AM »
Lightning's Tools & Utilities has a new home! Everything's been moved to my new project space on Assembla, at:

http://www.assembla.com/spaces/lightningstools
Hello the mfd extraxtion rocks but my mfd's wil not work they stay blank, all other instruments work perfectly exept the mfd's
what could be the problem.??????????
Great balls off fire, Rabbit out

Offline Taipan

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 1484
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2010, 04:50:42 AM »
Rabbit
Whats your OS & video card and Falcon version ? Some versions of falcon and some video cards don't do the extraction properly - thats not a limitation of MFDe.
Are the MFD screens placed to the left of the main screen - ie when you look at the display properties, how are the screens arranged ?

Also, are you MFD's running in client only or client server mode ?
t
"If the heat don't get you........"

Offline Rabbit

  • Live to fly
  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Location: Netherlands Puth
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: nl
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #20 on: April 08, 2010, 05:34:55 AM »
Rabbit
Whats your OS & video card and Falcon version ? Some versions of falcon and some video cards don't do the extraction properly - thats not a limitation of MFDe.
Are the MFD screens placed to the left of the main screen - ie when you look at the display properties, how are the screens arranged ?

Also, are you MFD's running in client only or client server mode ?
t
Hello Taipan First, thank you for the quiq respons.
My falcon version is falcon 4.0 allied forces
The pc is a pentium 4  2.3 ghz and 3 gig ext. mem.
The video card is a specialy game card for 3d optics with 2 gig onboard mem.
I had at first the mfd'running in client mode that didnt work but all other istrument did work perfectly
than i tried to run the instuments in server mode bude the problem stayd the same. i alsow tried to let al other instruments run in client mode on the secons pc and the mfd's in servermode onde the server pc alsow the same problem.
Both pc's are exactly the same and in aal options everithing works perfectly except the mfd's thy stay blank.?????
Great balls off fire, Rabbit out

Offline Rabbit

  • Live to fly
  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Location: Netherlands Puth
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: nl
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2010, 05:38:20 AM »
Rabbit
Whats your OS & video card and Falcon version ? Some versions of falcon and some video cards don't do the extraction properly - thats not a limitation of MFDe.
Are the MFD screens placed to the left of the main screen - ie when you look at the display properties, how are the screens arranged ?

Also, are you MFD's running in client only or client server mode ?
t
Hello Taipan First, thank you for the quiq respons.
My falcon version is falcon 4.0 allied forces
The pc is a pentium 4  2.3 ghz and 3 gig ext. mem.
The video card is a specialy game card for 3d optics with 2 gig onboard mem.
I had at first the mfd'running in client mode that didnt work but all other istrument did work perfectly
than i tried to run the instuments in server mode bude the problem stayd the same. i alsow tried to let al other instruments run in client mode on the secons pc and the mfd's in servermode onde the server pc alsow the same problem.
Both pc's are exactly the same and in aal options everithing works perfectly except the mfd's thy stay blank.?????
The screens are in 1024x768
What do you meen by the left of the main screen??
Both pc's are with two screens!!

Great balls off fire, Rabbit out

Offline Taipan

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 1484
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2010, 09:08:00 AM »
ok, do you know if you're running MFDe in 2D or 3D mode ?

I don't believe Allied Force will support 3D mode because it does not provide access to the exported textures that the MFD's use in 3D mode.

Also, some video cards, regardless of the amount of vide ram they claim to have, will steal/shadow conventional RAM. I think you can check this by right clicking on your desktop and selecting properties, display & advanced settings. Sorry I don't have XP so I can't recall the sequence. Somewhere in the advanced properties you can find available ram and onboard ram - please be careful because there may be a difference.

Regarding "the left of screen".... When you go into your display properties, you will see your default screen displayed, that is the one you run falcon on, but you should also see the one you run MFDe on. They should be moved over to the left of the main game screen... ( actually you need to play with this because I can't remember if the MFDe screens go to the left or right )

There is a long thread about mfd extractor, and I have heaps of posts in there - well worth a read
thanks
t
"If the heat don't get you........"

Offline lightning

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2055
  • Country: 00
    • Lightning's Tools
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #23 on: April 08, 2010, 04:23:00 PM »
Can a moderator move this latest stuff over to the MFDE thread, please? 


Rabbit,

In MFDE's 2D capture mode (which works with all F4 versions), you have to provide MFDE with the screen coordinates of the rectangles that you want MFDE to capture and use as the MFD images.  Sounds like you have not configured these. 

To use MFDE's 3D extraction mode, you have to be using OpenFalcon, and you have to have a video card that supports rendering to textures in non-local video memory.  Not all cards support this.  You also will need to copy the Direct3D proxy DLLs that ship with MFDE (they're installed in the MFDE installation folder) into your OpenFalcon folder.  As Taipan said, 3D extraction mode does not work with Allied Force. 


Offline Rabbit

  • Live to fly
  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Location: Netherlands Puth
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: nl
Re: Lightning's Tools & Downloads all in one place
« Reply #24 on: April 13, 2010, 03:12:23 AM »
Can a moderator move this latest stuff over to the MFDE thread, please? 


Rabbit,

In MFDE's 2D capture mode (which works with all F4 versions), you have to provide MFDE with the screen coordinates of the rectangles that you want MFDE to capture and use as the MFD images.  Sounds like you have not configured these. 

To use MFDE's 3D extraction mode, you have to be using OpenFalcon, and you have to have a video card that supports rendering to textures in non-local video memory.  Not all cards support this.  You also will need to copy the Direct3D proxy DLLs that ship with MFDE (they're installed in the MFDE installation folder) into your OpenFalcon folder.  As Taipan said, 3D extraction mode does not work with Allied Force. 


Thanks if got it working it was the network connection that made the problem.
Thank you for the respons
Great balls off fire, Rabbit out