collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 26
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 2
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

henkie's wishlist by MrBones
[Today at 08:57:11 AM]


PSCOCKPIT SYSTEM 3rd RUN! by mrwell
[Today at 06:36:27 AM]


Willy's Pit by Willy
[July 24, 2014, 02:51:42 PM]


Grease Monkey's Pit by Cupra
[July 24, 2014, 01:37:55 PM]


John's F16 pit progress by Ski
[July 23, 2014, 10:00:56 PM]


Need HUD box by Manny
[July 23, 2014, 08:25:30 PM]


Entire Fam Pit for Sale. Pics, ebay link, etc... by clr4ils
[July 23, 2014, 06:17:47 PM]


TM HOTAS Cougar in very good condition for sale by ReaperAT
[July 23, 2014, 05:53:46 PM]


Cockpit-Fest USA 2014 by String
[July 23, 2014, 01:00:32 PM]


Mike´s Full ICP Kit and Vipercore PCB by CobaltUK
[July 22, 2014, 01:45:08 PM]


Engine Gauge Vipercore PCB Vipercore Fuel Flow Center USB Controller by Trigger
[July 22, 2014, 08:39:13 AM]


Mike's Money Pit by gancio
[July 22, 2014, 08:21:37 AM]


Rufus' Ride - Block 50 Pit Progress... by henkie
[July 22, 2014, 01:55:50 AM]


Betainnovation F4IM + W7 by JJ
[July 21, 2014, 04:27:38 PM]


Martin "Pegasus" Center Console Sale SOLD!! by Trigger
[July 21, 2014, 02:35:08 PM]


NVIS backlightable knobs attempt by Willy
[July 21, 2014, 12:33:34 PM]


Ranger's project by RangerVIAF
[July 21, 2014, 05:14:01 AM]


Drywall Mud by Doc_
[July 18, 2014, 06:04:31 PM]


MLU indicators by Focaldesign
[July 17, 2014, 11:28:47 AM]


PoKeys for Switches, Pots, Encoders and LEDs by sagrzmnky
[July 16, 2014, 01:19:59 PM]

Author Topic: MFD Exporter utility  (Read 237167 times)

Offline CobaltUK

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Location:
  • Posts: 94

Offline Yoda

  • 2nd. LT
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 19
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #946 on: March 23, 2012, 04:46:28 PM »
Looking forward to seeing a working mfde version for bms. In the meantime, is there a way to read some raw textures/framebuffers of the mfds? To grab a pointer to raw data or similar? If so that would be something I'd have much use for. But I guess if it was that easy you would have finished the mfde already...
« Last Edit: March 23, 2012, 05:21:30 PM by Yoda »

Offline MichaeM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Oklahoma City
  • Posts: 56
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #947 on: March 31, 2012, 07:58:46 PM »
Hey y'all,

Ok I am NOT asking for the mfd issue to be fixed but...

I Installed the new IT-BMS theater, and for some strange reason it won't export ANY gauges whatsoever. Other theaters like Korea and Balkins still work just fine, but when I change to Israel theater the displays just go blank. Anyone know why this would happen? Thanks

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #948 on: April 01, 2012, 03:41:08 AM »
Hi MichaeM,
              which F-16 model is used in the Israel theatre ???

When installing the Israel theatre in OF, does it also install its own F-16 (with its own 3dckpit.dat) ???

               Is the Israel theatre built into BMS as standard ???

At one time, all the different F-16 variants used its own ?3dckpit.dat?, if you remove all the dat files from all the different models then Falcon will be forced to use the default ?3dckpit.dat? and that should give you your MFD?s in all model variants.



 PS:  this is just a quick guess.  



 PS...PS:  did you say "All gauges" ???
« Last Edit: April 01, 2012, 04:28:20 AM by Reboot »

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 760
  • Country: ch
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #949 on: April 01, 2012, 04:34:05 AM »
You can make a "Cockpit Update" at the installation.. this also cam make MP games unsatable.. maybe it also kicks out the exploration?

Offline Echo

  • 2nd. LT
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #950 on: April 01, 2012, 05:00:15 AM »
             which F-16 model is used in the Israel theatre ???

When installing the Israel theatre in OF, does it also install its own F-16 (with its own 3dckpit.dat) ???

               Is the Israel theatre built into BMS as standard ???

At one time, all the different F-16 variants used its own ?3dckpit.dat?, if you remove all the dat files from all the different models then Falcon will be forced to use the default ?3dckpit.dat? and that should give you your MFD?s in all model variants.
Hi,
IT-BMS uses independent modified F-16 models in the DB, eg F16-30I, F16I-CFT etc. You can check all the modifications to the aircraft in this document: Data\Add-On Israel\Docs\Aircraft & Vehicle Modifications.pdf

Because the names are different, and to allow independent IAF cockpits, each IT-BMS F-16 variant has its own cockpit folder in the cockpit art folder. The folders are created automatically by the installer and removed by the uninstaller.

We have a guy with home cockpit and he uses MFDE all the time, he hasn't encountered problems with it during beta testing and with the final build. Which F-16 model are you using? maybe it's related to something specific.

Anyhow, I wasn't aware that MFDE cares about the 3d cockpit dat file, I thought the data is always in the shared memory regardless and MFDE reads it? Correct me if I'm wrong.

You can make a "Cockpit Update" at the installation.. this also cam make MP games unsatable.. maybe it also kicks out the exploration?

The IAF cockpit option only replaces dds texture files, it should not have an effect on stability and it's not MP critical.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2012, 05:09:01 AM by Echo »

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #951 on: April 01, 2012, 05:17:36 AM »

Anyhow, I wasn't aware that MFDE cares about the 3d cockpit dat file, I thought the data is always in the shared memory regardless the MFDE reads it? Correct me if I'm wrong.


The gauges gets its data from the "shared memory" but 3D MFD?s and HUD comes from an image drown on the "shared memory area" which size is determined by the rttTarget,
The size of this area and the size and positioning of the MFD?s (and other things) is determined in the  3dckpit.dat

Doing something wrong in the 3dckpit.dat can put a stop to any MFD extraction.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2012, 07:30:45 AM by Reboot »

Offline Echo

  • 2nd. LT
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #952 on: April 01, 2012, 05:28:28 AM »
I see Reboot, thanks. The 3d dat files in IT-BMS are copied from the default ones, the only changes in them are the references to wings LOD number to have the correct skin, and the color of the flood lighting. So as I understand it should not affect MFDE.

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #953 on: April 01, 2012, 05:32:23 AM »
Thanks Echo,

 I didn?t know a new Israel theatre was made for BMS, I have only ever used the one for Falcon OF.

Offline MichaeM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Oklahoma City
  • Posts: 56
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #954 on: April 01, 2012, 09:42:30 AM »
Thanks for the reply fellas, maybe this will shed a little light on the issue.

the screens go blank as soon as I start the game up! As in, I haven't even gotten into the planning GUI yet, made aircraft selections, etc.  I did a small test last night, in which I changed theaters back to Korea, restarted the game...everything worked fine. Than change theater to Balkins theater, no issues either. Than I switched to Israel, start game, and entire display where MFDE gauges output goes blank as soon as the game starts. I should say that the screen goes "blank" because I can no longer see the desktop background, so it's not like the program just quits or anything.

@reboot, yes i extract some gauges that worked with stock BMS like PFL, gear indicator, HSI/ADI, etc

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #955 on: April 01, 2012, 09:54:39 AM »
Try selecting a different F-16,
If that helps then try swopping the 3dckpit.dat (we can talk about later).

Remember, Echo said he knows someone that has it working.

Offline Venom

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2003
  • Location:
  • Posts: 535
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #956 on: April 01, 2012, 10:23:30 AM »
I had that problem with Aegean. I changed to an earlier version of MFDE and it worked. And it works fine in ITO.
I will look up the version number and post later.


I'm using v.0.5.1.0
« Last Edit: April 01, 2012, 03:00:04 PM by Venom »
"the future's uncertain and the end is always near"

Offline MichaeM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Oklahoma City
  • Posts: 56
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #957 on: April 01, 2012, 11:19:59 AM »
I had that problem with Aegean. I changed to an earlier version of MFDE and it worked. And it works fine in ITO.
I will look up the version number and post later.


Copy all thanks

Offline MichaeM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Oklahoma City
  • Posts: 56
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #958 on: April 01, 2012, 06:13:49 PM »
Well switching aircraft didn't solve it, I will try an older version of the software next. Anyone know where to find it?

Offline Reboot

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1240
  • Country: gb
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #959 on: April 02, 2012, 11:58:26 AM »
MichaeM, Guys,
                                I have misunderstood the problem with the Israel theatre and MFD-E from the very start,

All my talk about 3dckpit.dat and the different F-16 variants was all connected to MFD extraction (not the gauges),

I misunderstood MichaeM, thinking it was the MFD?s that was the problem, (we all know that MFD-E doesn?t work with BMS).

And why there?s a problem with the last version of MFD-E ???.............. That?s anyone?s guess.  
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 12:15:34 PM by Reboot »