collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 29
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 1
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

Henkie's pit by Rufus
[November 22, 2014, 11:44:53 PM]


Display Map by Rufus
[November 22, 2014, 11:42:07 PM]


Mil Spec Switches for Sale by Wolverine
[November 22, 2014, 07:59:09 PM]


Dive's Pit by Wolverine
[November 22, 2014, 07:53:59 PM]


Converting U-174 plug to PC....... by sagrzmnky
[November 22, 2014, 06:40:12 PM]


eBay heads-up by Rufus
[November 22, 2014, 05:36:28 PM]


Beginner Avionics Tutorial by Willy
[November 22, 2014, 03:49:59 PM]


PSCockpit System Fourth Run!!! by mrwell
[November 22, 2014, 02:58:46 PM]


amido's pit by amido
[November 22, 2014, 10:39:15 AM]


PScockpit - Question on set up servos -BMS by sunny_hk
[November 22, 2014, 10:02:42 AM]


Article: American F-16s Arenít Supposed to Dogfight MiG-29s and Su-27s by JCook
[November 21, 2014, 07:26:36 PM]


Synchro Drive Interface (SDI) by Willy
[November 21, 2014, 04:53:10 PM]


Jay-El Lights for Sale ***** SOLD ****** by mrwell
[November 21, 2014, 04:02:14 PM]


Community F16 Cockpit Plans by wralex
[November 21, 2014, 03:18:18 PM]


KK's Pit by gancio
[November 20, 2014, 07:18:49 AM]


Uri's Pit by uri_ba
[November 20, 2014, 06:47:29 AM]


Show Time! by KK
[November 19, 2014, 11:42:25 AM]


Albert's F-16 Block 52 pit by mrwell
[November 19, 2014, 11:30:13 AM]


Need real primary ADI info by Nigel
[November 18, 2014, 09:56:15 PM]


EW Prime Question by bismond
[November 18, 2014, 07:30:03 PM]

Author Topic: MFD Exporter utility  (Read 261457 times)

Offline drillin

  • 2nd. LT
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #915 on: February 23, 2012, 03:00:03 PM »
lol, it was not a demand merely a question thats all, I was just curious thanks again lightning for giving us what we currently have!

Offline Icarus

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 59
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #916 on: February 23, 2012, 08:59:13 PM »

Im beginning to wonder if older nVidia video cards ilke my 8800GT has problems displaying to USB LDS via extracted MFDs out of BMS where other newer cards (both ATI and nVidia) do not.   Some folks are telling me they can do it, but they have newer cards.

Guess Ill find out after an upgrade sometime in the future.  Else MFDE may yet save the day.


It was a relief to read that i'm not the only one that cant get usb display to work. You sounded confident that was problem with displaylink drivers and BMS.
Unfortunatly you later went on to blame your vid card so i'm back in despair.
My card is nvidia 4600GTX and i get same result as you.  Notice that extracted window updates if you drag it ?

I had this very problem with my 7" TFT's and BMS MFD extraction on W7, but not MFDE as stand alone on W7 machine.  The TFT's also work with MFDE extracted from BMS W7 to my XP computer with the TFT's attached (not MFD's of course).  I have found that neither W7 or XP likes to boot with the TFT's plugged in.  They like it when you plug them in after booting like a memory stick vs a hard drive.

I don't know what all this means, maybe someone else does.

Offline AV8R

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Location:
  • Posts: 123
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #917 on: February 23, 2012, 10:56:51 PM »

My 8800GT can easily drive two LCD monitors at 1900 and 1680 while running BMS in windowed mode with extraction of the MFDs.   I just would rather not Velcro the TM MFD
Bezels to the secondary monitor.  I'd rather drive the 7" USB LCDs with the  TM MFD bezels
Attached to them as shown in my previous postings. 

Which means the old 512mb 8800GT can drive the BMS extraction to monitors OK, but it
Fails going through the DisplayLink path.  The latest MFDE does display the BMS MFDs, but
Not functionally. 

DCS A10c is able to display its MFDs through DisplayLink via my 8800GT and USB LCDs.
So the hardware and drivers are sufficient in other sims or extraction methods than the
BMS extraction to DisplayLink.  Im sure Lightning can do it, time permitting.

Offline Icarus

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 59
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #918 on: February 24, 2012, 10:53:22 AM »
AV8R,

I have BMS MFD's on 2 VGA 8" LCD screens.  I use the 7" TFTs via MFDE for the RWR and DED over the MFD's and all the other MFDE gauges on 2 19" LCD's using XP and a GF 7600 GS!.  The 7" U70 TFT's were 1/4" too small for the Cougar MFD's anyway.  Works great. :yihaw:

Offline AV8R

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Location:
  • Posts: 123
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #919 on: February 24, 2012, 12:22:53 PM »
@Icarus,

So you're using VGA 8" LCDs for MFDs driven by a video card.   How are you driving your two main screens plus these two VGA LCDs for BMS?  Does that mean you have two video cards in your system, or did you figure out how to use more than one computer with BMS extraction?

As for me and others,  its the USB LCDs that Im trying to get to work with the nVidia GF8800GT, and where BMS Extraction fails.  Lightning's MFDE seems to be able to use DisplayLink where as BMS extractor cannot.  Ive been successful with DCS and Helios over DisplayLink, so its something about the BMS extraction method that makes the USB LCDs go white when extracting to them.  Plus the whole idea of having to run in Windowed mode kills frame rate on this video card too.  Another reason to want to offload the extraction to another PC.

Offline Ripley

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Location: Veenendaal
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: nl
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #920 on: February 24, 2012, 01:34:57 PM »
IIRC that's because MFDE renders in software (the CPU does the work) and BMS in hardware (the GPU does the work). You need DirectX support on your graphics card to extract the MFD's with BMS. My guess is the USB LCD's don't support DirectX.

Offline Muddog

  • Col.
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 130
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #921 on: February 24, 2012, 04:14:44 PM »
@ AV8R,
  http://www.viperpits.org/smf/index.php?topic=5779.msg81114#msg81114

Seems to me Doc had the same probas you in the past with the same card.I didnt read much into the thread but thought I would throw it to you,hope it helps.
Mud

Offline nighthawkf-117

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 93
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #922 on: February 24, 2012, 05:16:49 PM »
Hey guys, what is your favorite sorce for heap TFTs or LCDs in 7 or 8 inches in the U.S.? I know there are ebay seller but most are in China.
Thanks
Nighthawk

Offline Ripley

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Location: Veenendaal
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: nl
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #923 on: February 24, 2012, 05:23:23 PM »
Hey guys, what is your favorite sorce for heap TFTs or LCDs in 7 or 8 inches in the U.S.? I know there are ebay seller but most are in China.
Thanks
Nighthawk

Not really what you're asking for, but many here have very good experiences with eBay seller Vitrolight. Yes, he is Chinese, but he supplies quality goods and is reliable.

Offline Venom

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2003
  • Location:
  • Posts: 547
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #924 on: February 24, 2012, 05:54:05 PM »
I've bought a couple of times from bbillion, in Hong Kong, I was apprehensive but, no problems.
"the future's uncertain and the end is always near"

Offline nighthawkf-117

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Location:
  • Posts: 93

Offline Ripley

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Location: Veenendaal
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: nl
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #926 on: February 24, 2012, 07:03:56 PM »
Get her pregnant and they'll start working.  :thumbsup:

Just kidding. You need a VGA controller with that panel. I don't have shares, but check this out:

http://www.ebay.nl/itm/7-0inch-TFT-LCD-module-AT070TN83-V-1-VGA-AV-board-/300617834471?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45fe381fe7

Offline CobaltUK

  • Lt. Col
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Location:
  • Posts: 96
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #927 on: February 25, 2012, 07:49:25 AM »
IIRC that's because MFDE renders in software (the CPU does the work) and BMS in hardware (the GPU does the work). You need DirectX support on your graphics card to extract the MFD's with BMS. My guess is the USB LCD's don't support DirectX.

Thats correct. At least according to the instructions that came with my Lilliput display. Annoyed that there was nothing on the makers web site that mentioned limitation.

@ AV8R,  I think were stuffed unfortunately as regards using the convienient BMS extraction. I wonder how the process differs in such sims as DCS warthog such that no directx support isnt a show stopper with usb display.
There is no slowness in mfd update as has been suggested. As long as you hold down the LMB (having dragged window slightly) the window contents update in sync with main display. But of course impractical
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 08:04:38 AM by CobaltUK »

Offline MichaeM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Location: Oklahoma City
  • Posts: 56
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #928 on: February 29, 2012, 08:27:23 PM »
I suppose no updates for this yet? I wonder if it would be possible for someone with the technical know how to help update this program (with lightnings permission of course)?

Offline Venom

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2003
  • Location:
  • Posts: 547
Re: MFD Exporter utility
« Reply #929 on: March 01, 2012, 10:37:45 AM »
I suppose no updates for this yet? I wonder if it would be possible for someone with the technical know how to help update this program (with lightnings permission of course)?

As I understand it, something needs changed in the BMS and/or MFDE code.  That kind of lets us out.
"the future's uncertain and the end is always near"