collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 5
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 1
  • Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

Old Dutch sim pilot by salaxi54
[May 22, 2022, 12:06:22 AM]


Hello everyone! by Maxx_6dof
[May 20, 2022, 08:07:31 PM]


Help with New MEMBER REGISTRATION by TacticalRealtor
[May 18, 2022, 01:13:08 AM]


The Viper Simmer by Taipan
[May 18, 2022, 12:14:50 AM]


DCStoF4 by Cupra
[May 10, 2022, 03:52:17 PM]

Author Topic: Boards to interface with DCS  (Read 3052 times)

Offline Brotato

  • 1st.LT
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 33
  • Country: ca
    • Awards
Boards to interface with DCS
« on: May 03, 2020, 02:13:27 AM »
Hi all,

I noticed that a lot of members here use falcon 4 for the sim. I got into simming through DCS, and I was curious if anyone out there had any ideas how I could interface my controls in the pit with DCS rather than falcon 4?

Looking forward to any help!
Briefing for today: Don't suck, don't crash.

Offline salaxi54

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: Athens
  • Posts: 1242
  • Country: gr
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build
    • Buy me a beer
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2020, 02:43:48 AM »
No personal experience here on DCS, but JShep's PSCockpit system supports it: http://psfalcon.blogspot.com/

Offline Snoopy

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: nl
  • Flying Snoopy Airways
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2020, 04:30:02 AM »
Some Arduino boards are recognized by Windows as an USB joystick. They work with any simulation software. For example, this weekend I finished making my ICP. All buttons, switches and thumbwheels are recognized in Windows. I can use them in BMS but also in any other simulator or game. Connecting and programming them is quite easy. For Arduino you will need an Arduino Micro board with the correct chipset.

There are also other very cheap solution available which can work with buttons and switches and require no programming at all. I ordered this one:
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/4000620083956.html
Hasn't vbeen delivered yet. Only drawback is that it can take only 12 buttons.

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 1536
  • Country: ch
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2020, 05:14:33 AM »
DCS is very complicate :( It is moer for Destop and VR Players. For Pit Builders it is the hell.. not just interfacing software. Also display extraction, reading out light status and so on... just pain  :brickwall:

That is the reason I stay at BMS and hope they will make the jump away from the 1998 code and DX9 engine in the near future…  :beer: I even would pay for BMS, no discussion.

Offline Snoopy

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: nl
  • Flying Snoopy Airways
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2020, 08:27:05 AM »
The functionality of BMS and the visuals of DCS (or even better the new MS FlightSimulator) combined.  :yihaw:

Offline Nigel

  • Global Moderator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2008
  • Location: Franklin, TN
  • Posts: 4542
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Gold Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Silver Heart Award: Awarded to those showing a real heart for the community and/or it's cause 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2020, 09:53:30 AM »
Be patient...

Offline Romanski

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location: International Space Station
  • Posts: 612
  • Country: nl
  • www.31st.nl
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Software Guru Award: Awarded to those with special software skills Electronics Guru Award: Awarded to those with special electronics skills King for a Day Award: Awarded for an exemplar contribution to the community Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2020, 02:20:34 PM »
Hi all,

I noticed that a lot of members here use falcon 4 for the sim. I got into simming through DCS, and I was curious if anyone out there had any ideas how I could interface my controls in the pit with DCS rather than falcon 4?

Looking forward to any help!

Check the DCS Forums , the 3  X-Keys interfaces which are for sale in the Classifieds are fully compatible and programable with DCS. You can use up to 128 switches with 1 interface .Of course you need panels and switches.
"...Run, live to fly, fly to live, do or die!
Won't you run, live to fly, fly to live, Aces high!"

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2020, 05:02:26 PM »
If you're looking to dual-seat, I think Pokeys or Arduino are the most flexible - and you may also find that using Ethernet over USB may bring some additional advantages when it comes to interface protocols.
- Rufus

Offline MrWell

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1632
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2020, 05:06:01 PM »
I think PScockpit  https://psfalcon.blogspot.com is easier, more powerful and complete but you can use also this too https://dcs-bios.readthedocs.io/en/latest/
It is Arduino based.
Cheers

Offline Marvin

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
  • Posts: 2131
  • Country: ca
  • Back at again after 10 years!
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 2000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 2000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Agoge Tactical Regimen
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2020, 06:33:24 PM »
Be patient there is stuff coming down the line for BMS that is going to make it so much better than DCS than it already is.  I am not trying to start a turf war, I am just saying, in due time there are big changes coming.  So stick with BMS.
" Where's the KABOOM! "

Windows 8.1 64 bit, Intel Core i7 - 5820K CPU (3.30GHz 6-cores, 15MB Cache, Overclocked up to 3.8 GHz w/ Turbo Boost), 32.0 GB Quad Channel DDR4 at 2133MHz, 128GB SSD 6Gb/s Main + 2TB 72

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2020, 06:40:03 PM »
I wish the folks at BMS would put an equivalent effort into a Hornet model as they have into their Viper...and I AM trying to start a turf war... :whistle: ...
- Rufus

Offline Marvin

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
  • Posts: 2131
  • Country: ca
  • Back at again after 10 years!
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 2000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 2000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Agoge Tactical Regimen
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2020, 06:41:57 PM »
I wish the folks at BMS would put an equivalent effort into a Hornet model as they have into their Viper...and I AM trying to start a turf war... :whistle: ...

I one of the strong voices to stop the hornet development!  :)
" Where's the KABOOM! "

Windows 8.1 64 bit, Intel Core i7 - 5820K CPU (3.30GHz 6-cores, 15MB Cache, Overclocked up to 3.8 GHz w/ Turbo Boost), 32.0 GB Quad Channel DDR4 at 2133MHz, 128GB SSD 6Gb/s Main + 2TB 72

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2020, 06:58:06 PM »
Both sims have pluses and minuses...I like competition - it gives all players reason to improve!

I wish they would take all of the alternate-aircraft options out until they are all up to similar standards, frankly.
- Rufus

Offline Marvin

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
  • Posts: 2131
  • Country: ca
  • Back at again after 10 years!
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 2000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 2000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Agoge Tactical Regimen
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2020, 06:59:41 PM »
Both sims have pluses and minuses...I like competition - it gives all players reason to improve!

BMS has always been split with guys that believe it is a VIPER sim and others that don't.  I certainly believe it will always be a VIPER sim.  ;)
" Where's the KABOOM! "

Windows 8.1 64 bit, Intel Core i7 - 5820K CPU (3.30GHz 6-cores, 15MB Cache, Overclocked up to 3.8 GHz w/ Turbo Boost), 32.0 GB Quad Channel DDR4 at 2133MHz, 128GB SSD 6Gb/s Main + 2TB 72

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2020, 07:00:44 PM »
Me too.  That's the main reason I refuse to fly anything BUT the Viper in it.
- Rufus

Offline Marvin

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
  • Posts: 2131
  • Country: ca
  • Back at again after 10 years!
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 2000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 2000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Agoge Tactical Regimen
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2020, 07:35:16 PM »
Me too.  That's the main reason I refuse to fly anything BUT the Viper in it.

Sorry I think you misunderstood my original post or I didn’t explain it clearly.  I meant Hornet development with BMS.   With DCS I don’t see a point in doing anything  but the Viper.
" Where's the KABOOM! "

Windows 8.1 64 bit, Intel Core i7 - 5820K CPU (3.30GHz 6-cores, 15MB Cache, Overclocked up to 3.8 GHz w/ Turbo Boost), 32.0 GB Quad Channel DDR4 at 2133MHz, 128GB SSD 6Gb/s Main + 2TB 72

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2020, 11:16:51 PM »
I think I got you.  And I prefer the VRS Hornet to the DCS one...so far.

My next pit WILL be a Hornet...I just haven't figured which one yet, but more than likely a Super - an F Model.  Then I may abandon all else.
- Rufus

Offline Pegasus

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2005
  • Location: Germany
  • Posts: 203
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build
    • http://www.xflight.de
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2020, 01:23:13 PM »
Hello guys,

I plan to support in the near future also DCS with my DEDCapture system. But 1st I will finalize my new version 3.0 that support my new LAN PCB project. After this I will support also DCS  :biggrin:

Hope, this information can help you.

All the best and take care

Martin "Pegasus"

Offline Venom

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2003
  • Location: Valley of the Sun
  • Posts: 702
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2020, 02:23:44 PM »
I wish the folks at BMS would put an equivalent effort into a Hornet model as they have into their Viper...and I AM trying to start a turf war... :whistle: ...

Only need a coder with interest, know how and time.

You up for it?

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2020, 03:43:31 PM »
...well...if I got to run the show I would think you'd a Team of researchers/coders/testers for each airplane you were building a model for - so not an simple tasking, really.  Not to mention pulling all the "immature" code for sub-standard models and then re-introducing it.

I'm not really a coder, I'd certainly be willing to manage the project, or learn what I can and make a contribution.  Once I get rid of my day job... :whistle: ...
- Rufus

Offline JCook

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Location: MidWest
  • Posts: 1266
  • Country: us
  • Callsign: "Anger"
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2020, 03:56:49 PM »
Martin's got the solution.
The wait is almost over. It will be worth it.
The Pegasus products are top of the line.
 :thumbsup:
Takeoffs are optional...landings are mandatory

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 1536
  • Country: ch
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2020, 04:06:58 PM »
They are :) But as fas as I know is the main usage BMS and not DCS.

Offline JCook

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Location: MidWest
  • Posts: 1266
  • Country: us
  • Callsign: "Anger"
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2020, 04:18:20 PM »
Yes. As Martin said, first BMS support and then DCS.
Takeoffs are optional...landings are mandatory

Offline Rufus

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Location: California
  • Posts: 5096
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum 3000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 3000 posts Silver Cup Award: Awarded to someone for a special achievement Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #23 on: May 04, 2020, 04:48:54 PM »
I am SERIOUSLY looking forward to these new boards...DROOOOOL... :countingmoney: .
- Rufus

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 1536
  • Country: ch
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #24 on: May 04, 2020, 05:04:41 PM »
Singe I saw them working with all the possibilities and options they have...  :cheerleader:

But that is much OT here.....

Offline Snoopy

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: nl
  • Flying Snoopy Airways
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2020, 07:36:18 AM »
There are also other very cheap solution available which can work with buttons and switches and require no programming at all. I ordered this one:
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/4000620083956.html
Hasn't vbeen delivered yet. Only drawback is that it can take only 12 buttons.
Today it was delivered and I quickly tested it with two switches. Just connect the included wire to the switch, plug it in and it works like a charm in any windows application. Great. For just 6 euro (about $6.50).



Offline Knight

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location: Spijkenisse Netherlands
  • Posts: 257
  • Country: nl
  • 31st Knight
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2020, 11:34:46 AM »
Thats cool..  Can you combine it too  more boards or bigger.? Hmm   Probable need to read the whole topic...

Offline Snoopy

  • Maj. General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: nl
  • Flying Snoopy Airways
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2020, 12:08:02 PM »
Thats cool..  Can you combine it too  more boards or bigger.? Hmm   Probable need to read the whole topic...
No I am afraid not. That is the problem. Each board would require its own USB connection and show up as a separate controller in Windows. S o you are limited to 12 switches/buttons and a joystick.

You could use a Robotdyn Micro which also automatically shows up in Windows as gamecontroller. That can be programmed (Arduino clone) and can handle much more connections. I use one for my ICP.
Here is a cheap address in Holland:
https://www.tinytronics.nl/shop/nl/arduino/main-boards/robotdyn-micro-atmega32u4

Offline viper26

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2007
  • Location: Arizona
  • Posts: 295
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2020, 02:05:26 PM »
I have two of these cheap in price boards coming my way.  Maybe easier for me to use than the Pokeys board I could get to work.  I'll attack the Pokeys project whenever I have the time. 

Offline Smoked

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
  • Brand new newbie!
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2020, 08:27:10 PM »
Also keep the bodnar boards in mind.   The pit I am building is for VR only.   Yep it will not look anything like the amazing pits I have seen here and I am ok with that.   For simple switches and knobs, there is nothing wrong with some Bodnar boards and DCS....    True importing the rest is a PITA....

As far as turf wars are concerned, once BMS gets the visual candy that DCS has to offer, then it will be a no brainier..... Not holding my breath though... After 1-1 head movement and depth perception, there is no way I can go back to 2d graphics... can't do it..

Offline viper26

  • Brig.General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2007
  • Location: Arizona
  • Posts: 295
  • Country: us
  • VP Awards Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build
    • Awards
Re: Boards to interface with DCS
« Reply #30 on: May 13, 2020, 09:33:52 PM »
I just started with VR myself on DCS and I must say its really cool but I also prefer the hands on stuff.  I'm going for a dual purpose set up. 

 

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal