Mag switches with DCS by Red Dog
[Today at 02:53:05 AM]

USAeroSim DCS F16c CDU Software by snakedoc
[May 10, 2024, 09:10:22 AM]

I am a newbie who took off from Japan sir by questerymj
[May 09, 2024, 09:12:07 AM]

Hello from Canada by RonD
[May 05, 2024, 04:00:22 PM]

Author Topic: BMS and Augmented Reality - Final thoughts and Testing  (Read 827 times)

Offline Marvin

• General
  • Back at again after 10 years!
  • VP Awards Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service 2000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 2000 posts Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Agoge Tactical Regimen
    • Awards
BMS and Augmented Reality - Final thoughts and Testing
« on: January 08, 2024, 09:15:59 AM »
Hey guys,

I’ve been getting lots of questions in regards to AR so I thought I would post a final review after 62 hours of flying/testing AR.

I take no credit other than the joy of flying the hard work of others.  Along witb the usual Devs of BMS credit goes to John for the specific AR features.

——————

My triple projector and screen was a nice setup but I’ve always been waiting for the AR to be a reality.   Those screens are a massive pain the ass.  And I’m sure if your climate is like mine it was impossible to keep the images aligned and along witb the other things I was happy to tear down my $9000 screen and throw it in the garbage.

AR is amazing!!!  Nothing beats it.  Let me say it again NOTHING beats it!

Now I consider the Quest 3 first generation AR headsets.  So they will improve but they are not perfect yet.  I would say they are about 90% perfect.

The issues are: slightly out of focus, camera warping, and wifi connections.