• Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

I am a newbie who took off from Japan sir by Atlas
[May 16, 2024, 12:43:47 PM]

Mag switches with DCS by questerymj
[May 11, 2024, 08:11:05 AM]

USAeroSim DCS F16c CDU Software by snakedoc
[May 10, 2024, 09:10:22 AM]

Author Topic: Hello from South Florida  (Read 3751 times)

Datajack

Hello from South Florida
« on: February 14, 2018, 10:28:58 AM »
Hello fellow pit builders! (Feels good to finally say that...)

I've spent the last few months researching every aspect of pit building. I'm a software engineer by trade, and so most of my research started with figuring out how to interface all the switches, potentiometers, rotaries, displays and lights from BMS to the cockpit. I've figured out most of it using Arduino boards and writing my own BMS extractor. In fact, I've already successfully turned an Arduino Mega into a 40 button,8 Axes Joystick.  The only research left (which I'm working on now), is how to handle the displays.  I found a great tool for running the text displays off of Arduinos (you can find It here: https://github.com/uriba107/deduino )

I plan to use this library for the text displays (DED, FPLD, FFI), although I will modify it to work with my own BMS extractor tool I wrote myself. This is simply so I don't have so many tools running at the same time.  I also want to see if it's possible to use an Arduino to run the non-text displays (HSI, RWR, etc...).  Not sure yet how I'm going to tackle this one, although I've been in contact with roccio (creator of YAME64) and he's been extremely helpful (thank you again Roccio if you read this!).