DCStoF4 (Standalone version) by Jakkuh-15
[April 17, 2024, 09:36:07 AM]

Hello from the UK! by ChrispyBiscuit99
[April 09, 2024, 01:19:26 PM]

Hi! From Turkiye by Foghorn
[April 09, 2024, 12:24:23 PM]

Hello from Greece by Foghorn
[April 09, 2024, 12:24:06 PM]

Author Topic: New Member - Advice  (Read 5010 times)

DirtyHarry

New Member - Advice
« on: November 14, 2009, 05:21:33 AM »
Hi guys, let me first introduce myself, my name is Jean-Paul Theron and I have been into flight simulators since my first Commodore 64 and a game called ACE. I am intending to do my PPL when I get the chance timewise, but lets face it, a private plane is not the same thing as a Viper!

I have been browsing these forums for quite a while and thought that although everything show here is amazing, I thought that people doing it were insane (in the nicest possible way). Until I slowly felt that I too want to start doing this hobby (if you can call it that). I have limited electronics experience, but know my way around an electron, soldering iron and PC board. Also I have some funds to make my life easier regarding ready made parts by other members.

Now I am hoping for a little advice and some answers to some questions. Firstly here is what I want to do. I would eventually want to build a simulator with a seat, heads UP display and all the panels. I would like to use my TM Cougar with FSSB mod and throttle for the sidestick and throttle. I would also like to use my simped F16+ pedals for the rudder system. I do not want the simulator to move in anyway. So thats the basic setup I want to build over the next few years.

Now for the questions:
(1) I would like my simulator to be 'compatible' with future F16 Sims, do you think this is possible, say if DCS brought out a new F16 sim?