Customizing Default Point of View in BMS by Sneakpeek
[April 17, 2024, 11:53:20 PM]

Hello from the UK! by ChrispyBiscuit99
[April 09, 2024, 01:19:26 PM]

Hi! From Turkiye by Foghorn
[April 09, 2024, 12:24:23 PM]

Hello from Greece by Foghorn
[April 09, 2024, 12:24:06 PM]

Author Topic: Hello from northern France  (Read 1751 times)

CaptainSW

Hello from northern France
« on: October 01, 2017, 10:54:22 AM »
Hello everyone, my turn to introduce myself to this amazing community with my first short post.

I live in France and am working in the production of aluminium cockpits for real aircraft; also I am a glider pilot on weekends.
I rediscovered the love of flight sims with BMS 4.33 lately; hadn't practiced since Falcon 4.0 AF (with a basic joystick) and several years back Eurofighter 2000 & F-22 Raptor (with keyboard and mouse)!
I recently discovered this website and it instantly gave me confidence that I could start building some sort of cockpit myself, in order to really profit from the latest developments in BMS and also from the huge experience that everyone here is ready to share.

I'm basically starting from scratch, for now I don't even have a desktop computer, which is rather good because it will allow me to tailor my future buy to my exact needs.
My goal is to use Thrustmaster MFDs with external screens (I've begun "recycling" old laptop LCD screens, right now struggling to find the right power supply); combine them with a couple of extra screens for gauges display; have a 3-screen main view; use the HOTAS Warthog.

Today I spent a lot of time searching for the best PC hardware in order to build a 3-screen main display as well as allow for 2-3 extra external screens to be connected. I'm still not sure whether multiple SLI graphics cards are the best option or whether it's smarter just to use some special hardware like the th2go from matrox or even usb to vgi adapters.