DCStoF4 (Standalone version) by Jakkuh-15
[April 17, 2024, 09:36:07 AM]

Hello from the UK! by ChrispyBiscuit99
[April 09, 2024, 01:19:26 PM]

Hi! From Turkiye by Foghorn
[April 09, 2024, 12:24:23 PM]

Hello from Greece by Foghorn
[April 09, 2024, 12:24:06 PM]

Author Topic: Good to meet you all  (Read 2641 times)

gdzeek

Good to meet you all
« on: May 15, 2013, 11:54:50 AM »
I wasnt sure if this was the right section for introductions, but since its for first time builders I figure may as well introduce myself and ask for pointers on where to begin

My name is Luke and I'm a current student in Mechanical engineering, Glad to meet you all on Viperpits, I've heard this is the place to be for anyone interested in Pit building, specifically for F-16's

I got a used body for a F-16 Cockpit and have been working at restoring it and upgrading it to be more realistic. when I started It had the body, one moniter panel , and space for a Thrustmaster Cougar joystick and throttle.

Since then I've been working on a keyboard emulator to install buttons and switches into the dashboard so I dont have to have a regular keyboard present. maybe off to the side when booting up software and such. and thats about where I've left off.

I'm drafting up control panels to install switches  and beginning to look into how I can draw information from the simulation program so I can begin working on making working instruments such as the HSI, ADA, warning lights, possibly a decent HUD to couple with a projector up front so the user doesnt need to worry about looking around too much on a tiny little monitor.

So if anyone can point me in the right direction That'd be great, otherwise I'll be here and there looking up everyone's projects and looking up previously discussed tactics around here

I'm currently using Falcon 4 Allied Force  but I'm going to get a copy of X Plane 10 soon as well

Offline henkie

• -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • General