• Dot Users Online:

* Recent Topics/Posts

I am a newbie who took off from Japan sir by Atlas
[May 16, 2024, 12:43:47 PM]

Mag switches with DCS by questerymj
[May 11, 2024, 08:11:05 AM]

USAeroSim DCS F16c CDU Software by snakedoc
[May 10, 2024, 09:10:22 AM]

Author Topic: James "Walking Target" Elliott  (Read 2344 times)

walking_target

James "Walking Target" Elliott
« on: September 18, 2006, 07:45:37 AM »
Hi guys,

Just thought I would put a thread on here for poo's and giggles :)  Just a quick bit about me.

I am 25, born in Cambridge (the proper English one ;)) and I am currently just about to go into my third year of my PhD in GIS and Integrated Emergency Management (IEM).  IEM is the main focus of the work and how GIS can be better used to support IEM decision making in the UK with a wider view of increasing resilience to emergencies and disasters.

My PhD is my third degree and I have been in full-time university education since 1999; so the perpetual, tax-dodging student I am afraid!  Bachelors was in Computing & Information Systems, Masters was in Disaster Management & Sustainable Development. I am on a scholarship so I get a "salary" (so-called) and my university fee's paid by the institution.  I am due to submit my 75,000 word thesis next November and then hopefully I can go out into the big bad world and get a job (a shocking idea if you ask me!).  My work takes me to some interesting places and lets me meet interesting people; I was in the US at the Katrina response working with FEMA in September of last year.  I am sure you are aware of the botched response stories, unfortunantely a lot of them were true and everything you saw on the news pretty much reflected reality (which is a first for the US press! ;)).  All good fun.  For a somewhat cynical presentation on New Orleans by me, see http://www.walkingtarget.com/orleans.ppt