collapse

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 29
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Recent Topics/Posts

Salaxi54's pit progress by salaxi54
[Today at 12:43:13 PM]


Wolverine's F16 Block 52 by Wolverine
[Today at 10:27:18 AM]


Azul's Pit by Azul
[August 18, 2017, 08:00:30 AM]


VIPER44's Pit by Hempstead
[August 16, 2017, 11:36:43 PM]


INBOUND's PIT by Nigel
[August 16, 2017, 02:08:57 AM]


Ugamanuga's pit by Ugamanuga
[August 15, 2017, 04:16:27 PM]


Thunder's Trainer by Thunder
[August 13, 2017, 07:41:27 PM]


Henkie's pit by Kukki
[August 12, 2017, 12:08:54 PM]


Upcoming parts by henkie
[August 11, 2017, 12:06:17 PM]


F-16 fuselage by simpit
[August 07, 2017, 06:57:34 AM]


Wralex's F16 pit v2.0 by henkie
[August 07, 2017, 03:30:32 AM]


Morgan's acesii & pit by Predator
[August 06, 2017, 09:52:33 AM]


CONSOLE SIDEWALLS by Leech87
[August 05, 2017, 06:48:59 PM]


CANOPY SPYDER by simpit
[August 05, 2017, 03:16:12 AM]

Author Topic: Tulkas' simulator - progress  (Read 191975 times)

JJ

  • Guest
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #330 on: February 25, 2014, 03:39:10 PM »
Super pit  :thumbsup:

Offline Tulkas

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Location: Norway
  • Posts: 816
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts : Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #331 on: March 12, 2014, 04:49:12 AM »
This one took quite some time. You can see the 25pins connection for Xkeys and the light connection for the AIC lightboard:

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w90/Tulkas_5Js/Cockpit/20140309_213826.jpg
Tulkas' simulator - progress


Somehow I got funny colours with the phone camera. Looks better for real:

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w90/Tulkas_5Js/Cockpit/20140309_153235.jpg
Tulkas' simulator - progress


One more step.

Cheers

Tulkas

Offline Wolverine

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: Moles Aeterna
  • Posts: 567
  • Country: it
  • VP Awards : Triplet Award: Awarded after 3 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #332 on: March 12, 2014, 06:59:57 AM »
masterwork  :beer:


sorry for my english!!                                                Italian journal of my pit!!

Offline gancio

  • -=VP Donor=-
  • General
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Location: Milan
  • Posts: 543
  • Country: it
  • VP Awards : Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum : Old Geezer Award: Awarded after 10 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #333 on: March 14, 2014, 10:52:51 AM »
Great job Tulkas...very nice one!
G

Offline Snowman

  • -=VP Veteran Donor=-
  • Brig.General
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Location:
  • Posts: 273
  • Country: nl
  • VP Awards : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Snowman Falcon
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #334 on: March 14, 2014, 05:11:14 PM »
Very nice work. Also great wiring!
Snowman

Offline Cupra

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Solothurn
  • Posts: 1105
  • Country: ch
  • VP Awards : 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • 1st VFW "Glory Wings"
    • Buy me some coffee
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #335 on: March 15, 2014, 12:50:45 PM »
Looks really great :) You also have some pics frombehind and how you made this part?

Offline Tulkas

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Location: Norway
  • Posts: 816
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts : Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #336 on: March 16, 2014, 04:21:42 PM »
As I told Sky I am the last guy you should take as a reference for wiring, I hardly know what am I doing. but here is a picture. Now it was installed in the cockpit so it was difficult to take a picture.

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w90/Tulkas_5Js/20140313_202638.jpg
Tulkas' simulator - progress


Anyway my wiring is pretty straight forward. It´s not a real TWP but 6 individual Jay-EL with Mike´s panel. The five top pins are the lights. The six parallel ones are the switches.

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w90/Tulkas_5Js/20140215_125501.jpg
Tulkas' simulator - progress


Regarding the lights I wired the central pin to the loaded pin of the AIC. For the LAUNCH indicator I wired together the other four pins. For the other indicators I wired together the two on the outside for the upper lights and the two on each side of the common for the lower lights (if i recall right).

Regarding the switch I wired together all the number 3 pin of every Jay-El to column 15 of the Xkeys and pin number 2 to rows 1-6 of the Xkeys.

I know there are some lights that are not yet in the shared memory and some people makes some fancy wiring to get them going but I will just hope that those lights will go to the SM in the future and from there to AIC.

Hope it helps

Cheers

Tulkas

JJ

  • Guest
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #337 on: March 16, 2014, 04:51:34 PM »
As far as i understood should the TWP be full wired for the next edition of BMS.....It are all pushbuttons with a function..

Offline Romanski

  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Location: Hoorn
  • Posts: 502
  • Country: nl
  • www.31st.nl
  • VP Awards : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service : Electronics Guru Award: Awarded to those with special electronics skills : Software Guru Award: Awarded to those with special software skills : King for a Day Award: Awarded for an exemplar contribution to the community : Gold Medal Award: Awarded for special contributions to the community : Outstanding Build Award: Awarded for an outstanding pit build
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #338 on: March 21, 2014, 02:04:40 AM »
Looks very good mate! Congrats on this !

Romanski
"...Run, live to fly, fly to live, do or die!
Won't you run, live to fly, fly to live, Aces high!"

Offline Tulkas

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Location: Norway
  • Posts: 816
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts : Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #339 on: May 11, 2014, 09:18:49 AM »
Hi guys.

So far so good, my right console it´s wired and working nicely with Xkeys. I have progress a lot on my Falcon .KEY file which I started from scratch following Kolbe and Red Dog indications and I am extremely happy I decided to do this. All screens are working so I have started to test fly using my CH prothtrottle until my left console it´s made which I hope will hapend along the summer.

But I need some help here because my frames are not that good since I started to use the multiscreen setup. Well not so sure it´s actually the FPM or some stuttering or stuff like that.

All help for optimization will be very welcome, especially from thoses of you who use ATI multiscreen.

My computer:

Z77A-G43
i5 2500K OC 4.5Ghz
8GB RAM
RADEON HD 6950 - 2GB
RADEON HD 5450

Screens connected

MAIN 47 - 1920x1800 -ATI 6950
CP 10.4 - 800x600 -MB built-in graphic card
2xMFD 8 - 800x600 -ATI 5450
HSI 4.3 - 640x480 (native 480x272) -ATI 6950
RWR 5 - 640x480 -ATI 6950

Position:

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w90/Tulkas_5Js/Cockpit/screens.jpg
Tulkas' simulator - progress



All help for optimization will be very welcome, especially from thoses of you who use ATI multiscreen. I wanted to use native resolution for all screens but I was not able to do with the HSI.

I have turn off Vertical Sinc. in Falcon
I see no improvements using "empty shell" view which puzzles me

Thanks!

Tulkas

Offline mrwell

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1172
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts : Triplet Award: Awarded after 3 years of community service : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #340 on: May 11, 2014, 05:12:21 PM »
Buenas paisano,
my rig is very similar to your one and my config too but I'm gonna use three 32" TVs for main screen and a second light PC for secondary support soft and screens (with GPT). Total of 9, apart from Android screens.

Jcenzano showed me a soft called Ultramon It's a payware that cost every penny you spend on it. It allows you to store and load fast and easily any screen config you wanna use. That will help you a lot with you testing.
In the other hand SoftTH http://www.kegetys.fi/downloads/softth/ allows you to put all load in your most powerful graphic card but you can use every screen connection at the same time. It makes easier multiple screens configs and maybe helps with FPSs too.

Have fun y espero que te sirva (hope it helps)!

Offline Tulkas

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Location: Norway
  • Posts: 816
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts : Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #341 on: May 12, 2014, 03:06:36 AM »
Thanks!

I will have a look on those programs. I consider as well using a second computer but only as a last resort. I think life is easier using just one. Do you have a screenshot of your screen positioning?

No sabia que Chipi era cabinero  :)

Cheers

Tulkas

Offline mrwell

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1172
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts : Triplet Award: Awarded after 3 years of community service : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #342 on: May 12, 2014, 03:11:59 PM »
Chipi (Jcenzano) was the one who told me about using a second rig. With GPT is easy to drive more screens and faster that I expected using 1Gb LAN. He has MFDs that way. I bought an cheap i3 and it's enough for that.

He has a desk cockpit full of PCDash2 (sort of 6?) working all together. It's not an scale cockpit but very functional.
And that second PC is very good for Bandicam and debriefings aids also.


I still don´t have my config done. I have almost all the structure and I'm collecting screens right now. I've received both for MFDs, wiring for RWR one and I need to get my hands on the others 32" TVs yet. I've tested 3 screens at a time with two miniDP to VGA adapters (HD6970 with 2 mDP, 2 DVI & 1 HDMI) and  and it worked fine.

I've just finished 16 panels (the most important) and I've just received Hispapales to redo LG and MISC panel. I was out of home and that's what I could do. They are cabled for PSCockpits and 2 Pokeys (yes, I need to make my own building thread...  :whistle:)

I'm going back to Madrid soon and willing to begin mounting things on my pit.

Have fun!

Offline Tulkas

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Location: Norway
  • Posts: 816
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts : Most Time Online Award: Awarded to those 30 members with most time on the forum : Veteran Award: Awarded after 5 years of community service
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #343 on: May 14, 2014, 02:18:36 AM »
I thought the MFDs cannot be estracted from a second computer, only the instruments from MFDE.

Cheers

Tulkas

Offline mrwell

  • General
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1172
  • Country: es
  • VP Awards : 1000+ posts Award: Awarded for achieving over 1000 posts : Triplet Award: Awarded after 3 years of community service : Top Poster Award: for those 30 members with most posts
    • Awards
Re: Tulkas' simulator - progress
« Reply #344 on: May 14, 2014, 02:44:14 AM »
You can do that with Gigurra's GPT software ;) not only MFDs but also HUD, other instruments, etc